I’ll need to unlock these 3 keys if I want to build something out of my life.

Mich Chow
2 min readSep 27, 2023
Photo by Florian Berger on Unsplash

I’ve come to a point where I’m utterly disgusted of how stagnant my life has become. And I’ve identified three key bottlenecks that I have to work on.

Obstacles are just challenges for us to figure out and overcome.

1. Dwelling too long on the past

The other day I was talking to a friend about a remark she made, and what she replied kinda shocked me to my senses.

She said something along the lines of:
“It’s been twenty minutes! Why on earth are you still thinking about it?!”

And suddenly I felt like my whole life thus far flashed before me.

She’d moved on from the topic after less than twenty minutes. Yet, here I am dwelling on things more than a decade ago! No wonder I feel like I’m in rut all the time.

It’s time to move on.

2. Overcome inertia. Create momentum.

I’m a chronic procrastinator.

However, whenever I do put in the effort to focus on doing something, say for ten minutes, I find myself getting into the flow state rather easily. And once this happens, deep work comes naturally.

--

--

Mich Chow

An ex-coffee binger and a recovering procrastinator. This is where I process my curiosity.